Redefining “Stay-at-home Mom”

image

I, personally, think it’s hilarious when someone asks me what I do all day as a stay-at-home mom (SAHM). Some women may take it offensively, but I really just laugh to myself and think, If you only knew! I’m sure every SAHM has been asked this question at least once.

The term “stay-at-home” is a bit misleading and misinterpreted. Yes, I physically stay at home with my kids, but that by no means includes me being lazy. In fact, I rarely sit down! And I probably work harder than most people in corporate America!

I had my first son shortly after graduating from college in 2012. I remember when I was pregnant, my friends would ask me, So, do you plan to work after having the baby? After all, I had just received my Bachelor’s degree. My answer: Yes! I plan to work harder than I ever have in my entire life! Just because I didn’t plan to get a job with a salary didn’t mean I wouldn’t be working. And I think that’s where the term “stay at home” gets misinterpreted. Our workplace IS the home, which means we never get a break.

We aren’t sitting around catching up on the latest episode of Keeping Up With The Kardashians. We aren’t sitting by the pool drinking a margarita. We are changing poopy diapers, getting peed on, breastfeeding, cooking, cleaning, doing laundry, going to doctor appointments, resolving fights, teaching good manners, and much more! Our job isn’t glamorous. Our job isn’t always fun. But it is the most rewarding.

Being a SAHM means being a cook, housekeeper, teacher, chauffeur, accountant, appointment setter, doctor, professional shopper, schedule maker, mediator, and personal assistant. I don’t get any days off. My salary doesn’t come in the form of a paycheck. But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

So, do I like the term SAHM? Not necessarily, although it is accurate in the sense that I do not leave the house to go to work. I’ve heard some people, instead, say Domestic Goddess, which I don’t like either. When I hear the word goddess I picture a glowing super model with perfect hair and makeup and, let’s face it, I hardly ever fix my hair and the only glow I have may be the sweat on my forehead from the Texas heat.

Why can’t we just be called moms, mothers, mommies, mums, mamas? After all, we don’t call dads, “go-to-work dads”!

image

This image pretty much sums it up!

One thought on “Redefining “Stay-at-home Mom”

Leave a comment